SimSync PRO – Help?!

Here’s a brief overview over the functions of the program:

Flag image menu
Use this menu to select your language

 

Menu Options

  1. Load li on startup?
    If checked, the series li will be loaded/updated during startup. By default this is enabled.
  2. Show preview?
    The sync will open a new window liing all files to download and the files/folders that will get deleted. By default, this is enabled.
  3. Prefer main server
    This option will force the sync to get the files from the main server instead of the nearest server. By default this is NOT enabled and this setting will not be saved..
  4. Connection type
    The sync is able to connect in 3 different ways to the sync servers (depending on the capabilities of the used sync server).
    FTP Passive: Connect to the ftp server in passive mode, which means that the server defines the transportation ports to use. This is the default setting and should be ok in 99% of all cases.
    FTP Active: Using active mode means, that the client defines the ports to use. Use this if you need to narrow the range of ports to use because of a firewall setting.
    To edit the range of ports to use, open the sub menu “Edit port range (xyz – zyx)” and enter the lowest and highest port to use by the sync.
    HTTP: HTTP means that the sync will not download using the sync ftp servers. He will sync thru the http (web) servers which have access to the files.
    In case, a the server doesn’t support single connection types, it will not be selectable.
  5. Number of concurrent downloads
    This option enables you to define how many files can be downloaded at the same time (1-4).
    HTTP downloads are limited to 1.
  6. Compressed download
    If this option is checked, the data will be transferred as compressed files (if supported by the server) and locally decompressed. This reduces the amount of data to transfer and the time needed to transfer drastically (depending on filetype).
    In case you encounter problems with the downloaded files, uncheck this option to download uncompressed filed.
    By default, this option is enabled.
  7. Force checksums
    The sync usually checks the filedate and size to find out if a file needs to get updated. In case that the file on the sync server has the same date and size, but has a different content because it has been updated, the sync will not recognize that the file on the server has to be downloaded.
    In that case, check the “Force checksums” option to calculate the checksum of the local files. Checksums of 2 files with the same size and date, but different content will be different. That means, the sync will detect the changes and download the file from the server even if the date and size are OK.
    Unfortuinatly, calculating checksums is quite timeconsuming. Especially with huge files. That’s why this option is disabled by default.
  8. Verify after sync
    If this option is enabled, the sync will re-check all files again after syncing. In case of errors, it will try to sync those files again.
    By default, this is disabled.
  9. Dedicated Server Mode
    Depending on the game, the dedicated server doesn’t need several filetypes to run. The rFactor Dedicated for example doesn’t need the car skins and other DDS files to run.
    When in “Dedicated Server mode”, the sync will than not sync those files, the server doesn’t need for it’s work. This speeds up the syncing process a lot and reduces the needed diskspace on the server which
    Another use for this mode is to start the dedicated server directly from the sync. Especially with the new start-options, this comes quite handy.
    By default this option is not checked.
  10. Clear cache
    The sync caches several files locally to prevent downloading this files everytime. This menu item is for deleting those cache files in case it is needed. The next time the sync needs this files it will download a fresh copy from the server.
  11. Debug-Mode
    If checked, the sync will log all actions to a logfile called (SimSyncPro_Debug.log). This equals the commandline parameter ‘-debug’.

 

Menu Help

  1. Search for new version
    Checks if a new version is available and downloads it after confirmation.
  2. Check for new beta-version
    Checks if a new beta version is available and downloads it after confirmation.
  3. About …
    Small info about the program.
  4. Help
    This help page.

Buttons and other controls

  1. Load >>
    This button tells the sync to load the series li from the server. This step has to be done everytime the sync has been started, except the following option is enabled: “Menu Options > Load li on startup?”
  2. Dropdown li with SimSync PRO Ini-files
    In case there are several “SimSyncPro.ini” files in the base folder, you can select the one to use here.
    To add second SimSyncPro.ini to the same folder, simply rename the file to SimSyncPro_xxx.ini where you should replace the “xxx” with something meaningfull.
  3. Serieslist
    Mark (check) the series to sync. “Un-checked” series will not be deleted, they will just not used for syning! This enables you to sync only those series you like to sync.
    Right-clicking on a series opens the context menu (see section “Series context menu” below) which gives you direct access to additional information to that particular series, etc.
  4. Show overview / Show log
    This button switches between the overview and the log window.
  5. Save log
    Saves the content of the logwindow to a text file in the base folder of the sync.
  6. Log
    Shows the main steps during the sync.
  7. Overview
    Shows information about the number and size of the files to transfer and the general status.
  8. Delete series
    This button enables you to delete ALL files of the selected series from your computer.
    ATTENTION! It will not be checked if the files to delete are in use by a different series or the game itself. Use on your own risk!
  9. Start xyz
    This button starts the game (or the dedicated server) and closes the sync. This button is only available when supported by the game.
    In case there are start-options available for the current game, there will be a small arrow on the right side of this button.
    Clicking on this arrow opens a small menu which gives you access to several game options:

      1. Profile
        This menu gives you the option to select the game profile (Player in rFactor) to start with. Just select the desired one from the submenu.
      2. Options
        Depending on the game, you will find options for the game itself, like “+fullproc” for rFactor based games.
      3. Server
        This menu will give you the option to directly join a server, in case there are servers configured in the WebSync backend.
        In case, the password for the server is also set in the backend, it allows you to join a server without getting asked for the join password.
      4. Update server password
        This command is only available in “Dedicated Server Mode”.
        It enables you to update the join password for your dedicated server with the one configured in the WebSync Backend. Make sure to select the game profile to update before using this command!
  10. Start
    This button starts the syncronization.
  11. Close
    Closes the program. In case this button is used during syncing, it will stop the sync process. The sync will restart with syncing starting with the cancelled file.

Series context menu

Each series has a context menu which enables the user to access additional information for that particular series.
This feature is available since SimSync PRO 4.5.

  1. Changelog
    Everytime a Sync-Admin indexes a series, he is asked to add a brief description of the changes into the changelog.
    If the changelog isn’t empty, it can be displayed by clicking on the Changelog command in this menu.
  2. Readme
    The Sync-admin has the possibility to upload readme files to the sync server (A general and also localized versions).
    In case a readme file is available, this command becomes available and it can be used to display it.
    In case a localized version is available, the localized version will be displayed instead of the general one.
  3. Delete series
    This command can be used to delete this particular series and it’s data from the local computer.
    ATTENTION! It will not be checked if the files to delete are in use by a different series or the game itself. Use on your own risk!